85th Academy Awards Winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented the 85th Academy Awards on Sunday night and you can view the full list of announced winners below! Ben Affleck's Argo won 3 Academy Awards, including Film Editing, Adapted Screenplay and Best Picture.

Best Picture

Life of Pi
Winner: Argo
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Silver Linings Playbook
Django Unchained
Zero Dark Thirty
Les Misérables

Actor in a Leading Role

Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook
Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln
Hugh Jackman – Les Misérables
Joaquin Phoenix – The Master
Denzel Washington – Flight

Actress in a Leading Role

Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty
Winner: Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook
Emmanuelle Riva – Amour
Quvenzhané Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild
Naomi Watts – The Impossible


Michael Haneke – Amour
Benh Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild
Winner: Ang Lee – Life of Pi
Steven Spielberg – Lincoln
David O. Russell – Silver Linings Playbook

Writing (Original Screenplay)

Amour – Written by Michael Haneke
Winner: Django Unchained – Written by Quentin Tarantino
Flight – Written by John Gatins
Moonrise Kingdom – Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
Zero Dark Thirty – Written by Mark Boal

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

Winner: Argo – Screenplay by Chris Terrio
Beasts of the Southern Wild – Screenplay by Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin
Life of Pi – Screenplay by David Magee
Lincoln – Screenplay by Tony Kushner
Silver Linings Playbook – Screenplay by David O. Russell

Music (Original Song)

"Before My Time" – Chasing Ice – Music and Lyric by J. Ralph
"Everybody Needs A Best Friend" – Ted – Music by Walter Murphy Lyric by Seth MacFarlane
"Pi's Lullaby" – Life of Pi – Music by Mychael Danna Lyric by Bombay Jayashri
Winner: "Skyfall" – Skyfall – Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth
"Suddenly" – Les Misérables – Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg Lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil

Music (Original Score)

Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
Argo – Alexandre Desplat
Winner: Life of Pi – Mychael Danna
Lincoln – John Williams
Skyfall – Thomas Newman

Production Design

Anna Karenina – Production Design: Sarah Greenwood, Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Production Design: Dan Hennah, Set Decoration: Ra Vincent and Simon Bright
Les Misérables – Production Design: Eve Stewart, Set Decoration: Anna Lynch-Robinson
Life of Pi – Production Design: David Gropman, Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
Winner: Lincoln – Production Design: Rick Carter, Set Decoration: Jim Erickson

Film Editing

Winner: Argo – William Goldenberg
Life of Pi – Tim Squyres
Lincoln – Michael Kahn
Silver Linings Playbook – Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
Zero Dark Thirty – Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg

Actress in a Supporting Role

Amy Adams – The Master
Sally Field – Lincoln
Winner: Anne Hathaway – Les Misérables
Helen Hunt – The Sessions
Jacki Weaver – Silver Linings Playbook

Sound Editing

Argo – Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn
Django Unchained – Wylie Stateman
Life of Pi – Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton
Winner: Skyfall – Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers
Winner: Zero Dark Thirty – Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing

Argo – John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
Winner: Les Misérables – Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes
Life of Pi – Ron Bartlett, D.M. Hemphill and Drew Kunin
Lincoln – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ronald Judkins
Skyfall – Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson

Foreign Language Film

Winner: Amour – Austria
Kon-Tiki – Norway
No – Chile
A Royal Affair – Denmark
War Witch – Canada

Documentary (Feature)

5 Broken Cameras
The Gatekeepers
How to Survive a Plague
The Invisible War
Winner: Searching for Sugar Man

Documentary (Short Subject)

Winner: Inocente
Kings Point
Mondays at Racine
Open Heart

Short Film (Live Action)

Asad – Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura
Buzkashi Boys – Sam French and Ariel Nasr
Winner: Curfew – Shawn Christensen
Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw) – Tom Van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele
Henry – Yan England

Makeup and Hairstyling

Hitchcock – Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane
Winner: Les Misérables – Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell

Costume Design

Winner: Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran
Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
Lincoln – Joanna Johnston
Mirror Mirror – Eiko Ishioka
Snow White and the Huntsman – Colleen Atwood

Visual Effects

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
Winner: Life of Pi – Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott
Marvel's The Avengers – Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick
Prometheus – Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill
Snow White and the Huntsman – Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson


Anna Karenina – Seamus McGarvey
Django Unchained – Robert Richardson
Winner: Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda
Lincoln – Janusz Kaminski
Skyfall – Roger Deakins

Animated Feature Film

Winner: Brave
The Pirates! Band of Misfits
Wreck-It Ralph

Short Film (Animated)

Adam and Dog – Minkyu Lee
Fresh Guacamole – PES
Head over Heels – Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O'Reilly
Maggie Simpson in "The Longest Daycare" – David Silverman
Winner: Paperman – John Kahrs

Actor in a Supporting Role

Alan Arkin – Argo
Robert De Niro – Silver Linings Pla ybook
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master
Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln
Winner: Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained


Similar Posts